R is for Roots

big-tree-root-zu-sanchez-photography
Roots

The Roots of my familiar are questioning me

These are the roots that anchor me

I’ve left them behind many a time

But they force their way into my consciousness

Telling me who I am and what I could be.

I put down my roots and I leave them be.

They chastise me when I stray, when I’m being someone else and not me.

They hold fast when I forget who I am and where I’m from.

The Roots of the familiar are holding on.

 

Leave a Reply

